feedburner
Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner


UAC Improvements in Windows 7

Labels:

Windows 7 and Windows Server 2008 R2 reduce the number of UAC prompts that local administrators and standard users must respond to:
• File operation prompts are merged.
• Internet Explorer prompts for running application installers are merged.
• Internet Explorer prompts for installing ActiveX controls are merged.

The default UAC setting allows a standard user to perform the following tasks without receiving a UAC prompt:
• Install updates from Windows Update.
• Install drivers that are downloaded from Windows Update or included with the operating system.
• View Windows settings. Changing settings still requires a UAC prompt.
• Pair Bluetooth devices to the computer.
• Reset the network adapter and perform other network diagnostic and repair tasks.

Additionally, the default UAC setting allows administrators to perform administrative tasks using operating system features without a UAC prompt. For example, an administrator can change the system time or restart a service without receiving a UAC prompt. However, administrators will still receive a UAC prompt if an application requires administrative privileges.

Windows Vista offers two levels of UAC protection to the user: on or off. Additionally, an administrator can change a Group Policy setting to prevent the screen from being dimmed (a feature known as the secure desktop) when prompting the user for consent.

Windows 7 and Windows Server 2008 R2 introduce two additional UAC prompt levels. If you are logged on as a local administrator, you can enable or disable UAC prompts, or you can choose when to be notified about changes to the computer. Administrators can choose from three levels of notification, with an additional option to disable the secure desktop:

• Always Notify Me Users are notified when they make changes to Windows settings and when programs attempt to make changes to the computer. This is the default setting for standard users.

• Notify Me Only When Programs Try To Make Changes To My Computer Users are not notified when they make changes to Windows settings, but they do receive notification when a program attempts to make changes to the computer. This is the default setting for administrators.

• Never Notify Me Users are not notified of any changes made to Windows settings or when software is installed.

Source of Information : Windows 7 Resource Kit 2009 Microsoft Press

0 comments:

Post a Comment

Alltop, all the top stories
BlogMalaysia.com
All Malaysian Bloggers Project
Computer Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory Add to Technorati Favorites
Technorati Profile
Top Computers blogs