Deactivating Windows Vista Sharing Wizard

You can use the File Sharing Wizard to apply simple permissions to folders that you’re sharing with the network. If you’ve used Windows XP in the past, you no doubt noticed that the File Sharing Wizard is at least an improvement over XP’s useless Simple File Sharing feature, and it certainly makes it easy to apply basic permissions, which novice users appreciate. However, Vista has a larger range of permissions and other sharing features, and these can make your network shares more secure. To work with these features, you need to deactivate the File Sharing Wizard.

For the details on using the File Sharing Wizard, see “Sharing a Resource with the File Sharing Wizard”. Here are the steps to follow to turn off the File Sharing Wizard:

1. Select Start, Control Panel, to open the Control Panel window.

2. Select Appearance and Personalization.

3. Select Folder Options to open the Folder Options dialog box.

4. Display the View tab.

5. Deactivate the Use Sharing Wizard check box.

6. Click OK.

Source of Information : Que Networking with Microsoft Windows Vista

No comments:

The many complications and risks of tape

Magnetic tape technology was adopted for backup many years ago because it met most of the physical storage requirements, primarily by being ...